Venice’s many facts

March 13, 2011 at 20:24 | Posted in Venice | 4 Comments

I thought I would follow-up the previous post with some rather unique and fun facts about the city of Venice.

The city’s symbol is the winged lion with an open book under its right paw. The Latin writing on the book states “Pax tibi Marce evangelista meus“, “Peace to you Mark my evangelist“. Saint Mark is Venice’s patron saint.


In Venice, there are 417 bridges, of which 72 are privately owned. 300 are made of stone, 60 of iron and 57 of wood. The latest bridge built in the city was opened in 2007 and was designed by the famous Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava.

Venice is built on 116 islands, has 170 campanile towers and over 7000 chimneys.


Saint Mark’s campanile tower is 98.6 metres high and on its top there is a statue of a golden angel, whose turning wings indicate the wind’s direction. The campanile collapsed on itself on 14th July 1902 and was built back in less than 10 years: it was re-opened on 25th April 1912, Saint Mark’s day.

Venice’s narrowest road is called Calletta Varisco, and it is only 53 cm wide.


The famous Venetian boat, the gondola. Its name derives from the Latin word cuncula, meaning “shell”: 11 metres long and weighting 600 kg, is manoeuvred with a single paddle by the gondoliere.




In Him,
Alice

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I enjoyed reading these facts about Venice! It is amazing to me how it is practically built over the water! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Hi there Jessica! It was so nice to have you girls visit my blog!
      My desire is that it will be both edifying and inspiring to you as your blog is to me: even if we live so far away, I am happy to share bits and pieces of my life as a Christian in Italy.
      I will update soon with more pictures and facts from my beautiful country!

  2. Hi Alice!

    The recipe that I used for the limeade came from Simply Recipes – here’s the link. 🙂

    http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/limeade_with_a_touch_of_mint/

    I didn’t put in the mint, though. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

    • Hi Sarah!
      Thank you so much for the answer and sorry for being so late… I have really enjoyed preparing the limeade: it was definitely a drink with a tangy twist!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

