All Saints’ Day and a Cheesecake

November 1, 2010 at 20:29 | Posted in Family, Homemaking | 2 Comments

Today is November 1st, All Saints’ Day, and here in Italy it is both a national holiday and a holy day of obligation.
This means that all Christians are required to go to mass and celebrate the holy apostles and all saints, martyrs and confessors, all the just made perfect who are at rest throughout the world. We usually celebrate it together with All Souls’ Day, which is on November 2nd, and has the specific purpose of remembering the dearly departed.

Therefore, this morning my family and I went to mass with grandma, and then we took a couple of huge flower pots to our small parish’s cemetery, where all our beloved family members are resting. It is our custom to take fresh flowers to the cemetery, and it is really beautiful to see such a sad place full of color and joy. It may seem strange, but I have always enjoyed going to the cemetery and pay my respects to those who have passed on to be with the Lord and I have to credit both my grandmothers for that.

After arranging the flowers, we spent a few minutes in the chapel and prayed, before heading home and starting to prepare a huge lunch for all the family.

Grandma made her famous spinach roll, served with lots of grated parmesan cheese and melted butter. Then, she made a wonderful veal roast with potatoes and pumpkin. For dessert, we had some ice cream and a cheesecake I’ve made.

I would like to thank my dear sister in Christ Meredith for the cheesecake recipe: it turned out to be really really good and everybody commented on how tasty and creamy it was! Here is a quick shot of what’s left of it:

It was very nice to get together with all of my relatives on my dad’s side and I was especially delighted in seeing my sweet cousin Greta: she is turning two next month and is a real handful! However, we all have waited for her so much that we cannot have enough of her!

********************

On a different note, I would like to express some of my thoughts on Halloween and its dangers.

In Italy, we never used to celebrate Halloween, as traditionally it is connected to countries with a Celtic background and we already had All Saints’ and All Souls’ Day. However, in the last few years the Halloween franchise has invaded my country as well, causing a sensation with parties, costumes, fake blood, zombies, you name it. 

Personally, I chose not to celebrate Halloween and stick to the more “conventional” (or should I say “respectful“?) All Saints’ and All Souls’ Day. 
This is primarily because I see Halloween merely as a “feast” which promotes dressing up as zombies, relating to the occult, making fun of death and is starting to drive people away from paying a respectful and godly tribute to those who are no longer with us. All the towns in the area, big or small, have been adorned with posters promoting gruesome parties and zombie parades.  

Today, grandma asked a 15-year-old boy who was at church what he did the previous day and he proudly stated that he went to 3 different Halloween parties dressed up as Death with a black robe and he was at mass just because his parents made him go. We all were utterly bewildered in seeing just how powerful Evil can be, and how it is plaguing the young generations, who are growing up being respectful to all that’s “material” and has a value money-wise, instead of striving to serve the Lord.
I will be forever thankful to my parents and my family for putting me on the right path, for providing me with wholesome and important values which have helped me tremendously to become a God-driven person with a higher purpose.

Ephesians, 5:6-12 ” Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not become partners with them; for at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true), and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord.” 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so glad to read it turned out well for you, Alice!

    • Thank you Meredith! It tasted SO good that my uncle has requested it for his birthday next month!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

