A trip to London

October 9, 2010 at 12:20 | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I was able to get 2 wonderful and much-needed weeks off work in late September, including my 27th birthday on September 30th!

One of my closest friends, who lives in London with her husband, invited me to spend 6 days with them: she has been recently diagnosed with Lymphoma on some of her neck’s lymph nodes and was about to start therapy, so I was extremely eager to offer my support! Hopefully, she will be able to put all of this behind her in a couple of months.

Even if the circumstances were a bit on the sad side, I felt very encouraged to try and do some “ministry” to my friend: she and her husband have not been saved yet and were not embracing the ways and teachings of the Lord.
When I started telling them how much encouragement and wisdom they could benefit from listening to the Word of God, at first I thought my prayers would be met with criticism and lack of faith, but after reading together a few passages from the Bible the mood quickly changed to openness, joy, relief, hope and much more!

It still amazes me how strong and purposeful the teachings of the Lord are! And it is so very true when Luke says “Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance” (15:7).  It felt so good to be able to share my experiences and my views with two young hearts who needed nothing more than a guiding light!

Aside from a truly wonderful fellowship time, I have also enjoyed the many sights and museums that London has to offer! It was my fifth time in the UK’s capital, and I always seem to find something new to do, see ore visit.

Let me share some pictures with you. The weather was not always nice, but I managed to walk for miles around the city anyways!

This is the entrance to one of my favourite museums, the Victoria & Albert.
London is a really great place for art and antiques, as most of the large museums have free admissions!

London’s most famous store, Harrods. I like to go in and browse through all the fancy and strange items… this time they even had edible chocolate-coated tarantulas and worms for sale!

St. Paul’s Cathedral: it has the second-largest cupola in the world, right after the one of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. I have climbed all the way to the small dome on top of the cupola a few years back.

The Big Ben! Its structure is very impressive, too bad it is not open to the public.

The London Eye, the biggest panoramic wheel in the world, on the Thames River. I was able to go on the London Eye twice: it is a very nice experience and it takes about 30 minutes to complete the ride. If the weather is nice, you have a 40km view from the top of the wheel.

The Houses of Parliament on the Thames River.

Tower Bridge on the Thames River: I have visited the bridge once and is quite neat to see all the machinery they have to lift it when necessary.

The Tower of London, where the crown jewels are stored. It is amazing to see this impressive bout of history right in the heart of a very modern city.

Buckingham Palace: I was able to visit 19 state rooms inside the Palace, which are open to the public for just 2 months every year. Unfortunately, cameras are not allowed inside the Palace.

This is the Palace’s back view, just outside the state rooms. The Queen has a wonderful collection of paintings, statues and the rooms are beautifully decorated. I was in total awe after the visit!

This is the Palace’s main gate.

Hope you enjoy my pictures, and I hope to be able to post some old ones soon!

Many blessings,
Alice

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

