Fruit tartlets

August 8, 2010 at 12:39 | Posted in Homemaking, Recipes | Leave a comment

I had one of my aunt’s birthday party last week and she asked me if, aside the tiramisu’ she was preparing, I could make a fruit dessert for the party.

A couple of months ago, I have purchased 8 nice tartlet pans and never had the chance to use them so far. So I thought it would be so nice if everyone had their own little fruit tart, as opposed to a slice of the big one! In this way, every person is able to get the same amount of fruit, crust and custard!

I have started off by making a basic pie crust, combining 220 grams of all-purpose flour with 100 gr. of soft butter (diced), 3 egg yolks and a pinch of salt. I worked the dough rather quickly, as it was quite hot and the butter does not have to melt in your hands. Then, I wrapped the dough in film and put it into the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

After letting the dough chill, I started taking small amounts of it, while keeping the rest in the fridge: I found that it is actually easier to cut and roll each small crust individually, rather than rolling out the whole dough and cutting it afterwards.
I filled all 8 pans with the dough, made little holes in them with a fork so that they won’t rise much, and put them in a pre-heated oven at 160 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes.

I prepared a lemon and vanilla custard beforehand, and started filling the tartlets as soon as they came out of the oven. Then, I cut some strawberries and decorated each tartlet, along with some blueberries.
To finish them, I poured some clear tart jelly over them.

They were delicious!!!

God Bless,

Alice

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

