New style… new adventure!

October 20, 2009 at 18:34 | Posted in Alice | Leave a comment
Tags:

Hi my fellow wanderers of the blogosphere!

Just a very quick introduction to present myself and my little blog…

I’m Alice, a nice girl from an incredibly small town in North-East Italy with a love for baking, cooking and the Lord.
As Italians, we are worldwide famous for our love for food and for eating well: they usually say it’s in our DNA, and I must say it is true!
I have learned the fine art of baking from my grandmother and I am very successful with baking all sorts of traditional cakes and desserts. That is – typical 100% Italian recipes for perfect 100% Italian treats.
However, I have always been interested in trying out something new (and different) as far as baking is concerned. My deep fascination with American and English-style layer-cakes and rich desserts did the rest!
I have quite a large collection of American and English cookery books, mostly about desserts, and try to purchase some new ones every now and then.

It wasn’t and still is not easy to convince a traditional Italian family to sit down and have an “alternative” dessert, but so far I have had very few complaints, if none at all!
My family members and my colleagues at work are my guinea-pigs: will try to eat pretty much ANYTHING and EVERYTHING¬†that I make, even if it’s not exactly what they’ve been used to since childhood…

Please join me as I wander through the challenges of importing the American sweet new style to Bella Italia: from finding the right ingredients to measurement conversions and oven temperatures, I can assure you a lot of fun, with a bit of culture here and there as well!

If you’ve got any questions, or just want to drop a line, feel free to leave a comment or email me at dolcestilnovo30 [at] gmail [dot] com.

Thanks so much for stopping by and hope you will enjoy it!!

Alice

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

